Dr George Beiko

George BeikoGeorge H.H. Beiko, BM, BCh, FRCS(C)
Lecturer, University of Toronto
Assistant Clinical Professor, McMaster University

George H.H. Beiko BM, BCh, FRCS(C) is a medical graduate of Oxford University and took his ophthalmology specialty training at Queens University in Canada.   After completing his residency, he worked for one year at the St. John Ophthalmic Hospital in Jerusalem.   He is currently a cataract, anterior segment and refractive surgeon practicing in St. Catharines, Ontario.   Research interests include development of advanced cataract techniques and new intraocular implants.   He has been an investigator in a number of Phase 1 FDA trials on intraocular lenses; he has done extensive work investigating multifocal, accommodating and aspheric IOLs.

Dr. Beiko has published numerous peer-reviewed articles in Ophthalmology, Journal of Cataract and Refractive Surgery and Canadian Journal of Ophthalmology.   He has also authored ten book chapters. He has given over 500 scientific presentations at meetings throughout the world, including the annual meetings of the AAO, ASCRS, COS, CSCRS, ESCRS, WOC and ISRS.   He has been awarded three best papers of session at the ASCRS annual meeting, one best poster award at AAO and the Best Original Paper in Cataract Surgery at AAO in 2010.   He has given 25 visiting professor/guest lectures.   He has been on the faculty of numerous courses on advanced phacoemulsification techniques and intraocular lenses at the AAO, ASCRS, COS, WOC and the University of Toronto.   He is on the review panel or editorial board of 10 ophthalmology journals.   His honours include being elected to membership in the International Intraocular Implant Club, being named one of the “Premier Surgeons” of North America (which includes 250 surgeons) and being made an Officer of the Most Venerable Order of the Hospital of St. John of Jerusalem, by Her Majesty The Queen of England.  He is the past Canadian Hospitaller for the St. John’s Ophthalmic Hospital in Jerusalem.  Recently, he was honoured with the Gold Medal by the Indian Society of cataract and Refractive Surgery, and an Achievement award by the American Academy of Ophthalmology.